Laurie Cassie and Rebecca Robins

Year: 2010-2011 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Excellence Recipients

Laurie Cassie and Rebecca Robins

David Livingstone Elementary School
315 East 23rd Avenue
Vancouver, BC V5V 1X6

Principal: David Brook
School Tel.: 604–713–4985
School Fax: 604–713–4987
School Email: dbrook@vsb.bc.ca
School Website: http://liv-online.vsb.bc.ca/

Video Profile

Subjects and grades taught: Math, Social Studies and Personal Planning for grades 6 and 7, Resource – Language Arts, Math and designated students for grades 2, 3, 6 and 7

Have a seat and help yourself to some tea and cookies in one of Laurie and Rebecca's Passion Cafés, where student passions fuel the discussions. Passionate about engaging students, Mrs. Cassie and Ms. Robins are always on the lookout for new ways to help students of all abilities learn and excel. Continually innovating, this "dynamic duo " has made SMART boards and video part of everyday life in their classrooms. Their tech know-how is in high demand and has inspired hundreds of other educators looking to enhance their teaching practices.

Teaching Approach

Collaboration is key for this teaching team known for their creative use of SMART Boards in the classroom and ability to integrate digital media into their lessons and across disciplines. The two use technology in ways many teachers could only have dreamed of a few years ago. Mrs. Cassie recognizes her students' technological abilities and lets them teach the teachers. Often working with students who struggle with the English language or have a learning challenge, Robin's uses video to help her students understand content and make a stories come to life. Both are inspiring leaders committed to sharing ideas and best practices with their colleagues.

Outstanding Achievements

  • Now a District Technology Inquiry school, David Livingstone Elementary owes much of its tech savvy status to the imagination, innovation and passion of Laurie Cassie and Rebecca Robins.
  • Upon learning of a technology contest sponsored by Best Buy, Mrs. Cassie led the creation of a student-centered video about their future vision of technology for learning. The group won a $20,000 grant for the use of technology in the classroom and the school was able to purchase 30 netbook computers.
  • Tapping into resources like CBC and BBC archives, the Discovery Educator Network and Book Flix (Scholastic's digital book resource), Ms. Robins makes learning relevant to each and every student.
  • At provincial SMART Board conferences and workshops, Mrs. Cassie regularly trains her students to co-present with a team of adults. The students become excellent problem-solvers as they help teachers use the right tools to design effective lessons.
  • Mrs. Cassie's students also learn about the ins and outs of money in a bank as David Livingstone Elementary turns into a real working branch of the Van City credit union.
  • Mrs. Cassie and Ms. Robins regularly share their resources with colleagues and submit lessons on the SMART Exchange – a sharing space developed by SMART technologies. Ms. Robins was named an "Exemplary Educator" by SMART Technologies; her puberty unit was the #1 most recommended in Canada and her Remembrance Day unit the #1 most downloaded of the week.
  • Both Ms. Robins and Mrs. Cassie were recognized as STAR Discovery Educators by the Discovery Educator Network (DEN) – an elite group of 5,000 educators globally.

Rave Reviews

"Laurie Cassie and Rebecca Robins have been instrumental in transforming our son's worldview. School is no longer a torment, but a rich adventure, where he feels his contribution is valued and his ideas respected."

Parent

"In my 38 years in education, I have not come across such a dynamic duo as Ms. Cassie and Ms. Robins."

Principal

Laurie Cassie et Rebecca Robins

Année : 2010-11 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréates d'un certificat d'excellence

Laurie Cassie and Rebecca Robins

David Livingstone Elementary School
315, 23e avenue Est
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) V5V 1X6

Directrice : David Brook
Téléphone de l'école : 604-713-4985
Télécopieur de l'école : 604-713-4987
Courriel de l'école : dbrook@vsb.bc.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://liv-online.vsb.bc.ca/ (en anglais seulement)

Portrait Vidéo

Années et matières : Mathématiques, études sociales et planification personnelle en 6e et 7e années, les arts et ressources linguistiques, les mathématiques et des élèves assignés en 2e, 3e, 6e et 7e années

Prenez place et servez-vous du thé et des biscuits dans l'un des Passion Cafés de Laurie et Rebecca, où les passions des élèves alimentent les discussions. Passionnées par l'art de faire participer les élèves, Mesdames Cassie et Robins sont sans cesse à la recherche de nouvelles façons d'aider les élèves, sans égard à leurs aptitudes, à apprendre et à exceller. Innovatrices impénitentes, ce « duo dynamique » a inscrit les tableaux blancs interactifs (SMART Boards) et la vidéo dans le quotidien de leurs étudiants. Leur savoir-faire technologique est en forte demande et a inspiré des centaines d'autres éducateurs en quête de moyens d'améliorer leurs méthodes pédagogiques.

Méthode d'enseignement

La collaboration est au cœur de cette équipe d'enseignantes reconnues pour leur utilisation créative des tableaux blancs interactifs dans la salle de classe et leur capacité à intégrer des médias numériques dans leurs plans de cours et dans diverses disciplines. Les deux utilisent la technologie de façons dont de nombreux enseignants n'ont pu que rêver il y a quelques années à peine. Madame Cassie reconnaît les capacités technologiques de ses élèves et les laisse enseigner aux enseignants. Oeuvrant souvent auprès d'étudiants maîtrisant mal l'anglais ou ayant des troubles d'apprentissage, Madame Robins utilise la vidéo pour aider ses élèves à saisir le contenu et à donner vie à des histoires. Les deux sont des leaders qui inspirent et qui s'emploient à partager leurs idées et leurs meilleures pratiques avec leurs collègues.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • En tant qu'école de district axée sur les technologies, l'école primaire David Livingstone doit dans une large mesure son savoir-faire technologique à l'imagination, à l'esprit d'innovation et à la passion de Laurie Cassie et Rebecca Robins.
  • Lorsqu'elle a appris l'existence d'un concours technologique parrainé par Best Buy, Madame Cassie a dirigé la création d'une vidéo axée sur les élèves et portant sur leur vision future de la technologie d'apprentissage. Le groupe a remporté une subvention de 20 000 dollars applicables à des outils technologiques pour la classe. L'école a ainsi pu acheter 30 miniportables.
  • Puisant dans des ressources comme les archives de CBC et de BBC, du Discovery Educator Network et de Book Flix (centre de livres numériques de Scholastic), Madame Robins rend l'apprentissage de chaque enfant pertinent.
  • Lors de conférences et d'ateliers provinciaux portant sur les tableaux blancs interactifs, Madame Cassie forme régulièrement ses élèves afin qu'ils puissent s'intégrer dans des équipes d'adultes faisant des présentations. Les élèves deviennent excellents en résolution de problèmes et aident les enseignants à utiliser les bons outils pour concevoir des leçons efficaces.
  • Les élèves de Madame Cassie apprennent les tenants et aboutissants de la gestion de l'argent dans une banque quand l'école David Livingstone se transforme en une véritable succursale de la coopérative d'épargne et de crédit Van City.
  • Mesdames Cassie et Robins partagent régulièrement leurs ressources avec des collègues en les mettant en ligne dans le SMART Exchange – un lieu de partage aménagé par SMART Technologies. Madame Robins a été désignée « Éducatrice exemplaire » par SMART Technologies; son module sur la puberté a été le plus recommandé au Canada et son module sur le jour du Souvenir a été le plus téléchargé de la semaine.
  • Tant Madame Robins que Madame Cassie ont été reconnues comme éducatrices toutes étoiles par le Discovery Educator Network (DEN) – un groupe d'élite mondial constitué de 5 000 éducateurs.

Commentaires élogieux :

« Laurie Cassie et Rebecca Robins ont joué un rôle déterminant dans la transformation de la vision du monde de notre fils. L'école n'est plus un lieu de tortures mais plutôt un lieu riche en aventures où il estime qu'on apprécie sa contribution et qu'on respecte ses idées. »

Un parent

« Je compte 38 ans d'expérience dans le milieu de l'éducation et jamais je n'ai connu un duo aussi dynamique que Mesdames Cassie et Robins. […]. »

Le directeur